Uncategorized

Muslims pray in Times Square to protest surveillance by NYPD


Muslims to NYPD: ‘Respect us, we will respect you’

AP reports:

NEW YORK — Hundreds  of Muslims prayed in a lower Manhattan park and marched to New York  Police headquarters Friday to protest a decade of police infiltrating  mosques and spying on Muslim neighborhoods.

Bundled in winter clothes, men and women knelt as the call to prayer echoed off the cold stone of government buildings.

“Being Muslim does not negate our nationality,” Imam Talib  Abdur-Rashid told the crowd of about 500 gathered in Foley Square, not  far from City Hall and local courthouses. “We are unapologetically  Muslim and uncompromisingly American.”

In searching the internet tonight I found this brief article on MSNBC and it raised a few pertinent questions for me, even as I felt myself grow calm and peaceful in other ways. I first want to say that I would have loved to have been there to have heard the sounds of the call to prayer in such a setting. Whether I would have found it to be disturbing or not, I can’t quite tell but the shock to my system, would have been worth it! I still find myself mentally turning away from the actions taken by the 911 hijackers but this picture made me take a second look. To see people of faith, quiet and subservient before their God was moving. But what they were capable of still frightens me and I don’t like being afraid. In the luxury of my own private space, I can be angered that this brought up the feeling of fear. And I can be philosophic about alternative Western occult histories that attempt to tie Islam to a bastardized vision of capitalism and with the possibility that this view itself may be nothing more than a heretical thread within Islam or it may be a kind of propaganda.

Which brings me to the movie Dune.

I don’t remember if I rented the Sci Fi channels 2000 rendition of Herberts Dune from the video store or if I saw it when it was rebroadcast in 2001. Either way, I remember having indulged that evening, and being captivated by the cinematography, the audio and the overall scope. But tonight while I was looking for a clip from the movie and was horribly disappointed to find nothing more than fan videos and a handful of allegorical renditions of how Dune is like the Iraq war. While these half hearted attempts at Literary Theory are ungrounded, and do not recognize themselves as perpetuating a kind of Western derived propaganda for real Muslim insurgents, tonights report that yet another failed terrorist attack was set for Times Square by someone MSNBC is calling a ‘Lone Wolf’  by a former US service member shows that there remains a disconnect between not only the military and its educational staff but also amongst the public at large regarding their own Western heritage and what it means to be an heir to the Western tradition, in all it’s many guises. The fact that synthetic marijuana abuse remains an issue at the Naval Academy illustrates just how big an issue is being covered up by both the state and our culture regarding definitions of naturalism and by extension, philosophical and religious naturalism. That no one I have read has come forward to comment on the word play involved is striking by it’s absence and indicates a deeper problem in Annapolis.

 

Leave a Reply

