Uncategorized

Narcissism and Parenting


“There are so many ways of being despicable it quite makes one’s head spin. But the way to be really despicable is to be contemptuous of other people’s pain.” – James Baldwin

A Narcissistic parents controls children in these ways:

The Co dependent parent – ” I need you. I can’t live without you.” – This prevents the child from having autonomy of their own.

Guilt Driven Control – “I’ve given my life for you. I’ve sacrificed it all.” – This method of control creates a feeling of obligation in children that they ‘owe’ the Narcissistic parent and must behave in a certain way to make the parent happy.

Love Withdrawal Control – “You’re worthy of my love only because you behave in a way that I expect you to behave.” – The moment a child does not meet expectations a narcissistic parent withdraws their love.

Emotional Incest Control – “Your my one true love. The one most important to me.” – The opposite sex parent makes the child responsible for fulfilling their unmet emotional needs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

