Uncategorized

Poetry for the moment


Is that the same moon?
Is this the same old springtime,
The same ancient spring?
And is this not my body,
The same body you once knew?

– Ariwara no Narihira

So many reasons
Why I must question your love,
Your sincerity:
Now my sorrows fall like rain,
Fall harder, gaining fury.

Where shall I turn now
When I am in need of a friend?
At Takasago,
Even aging stately pines
Cannot replace lost friends.

– Fujiwara Okikaze

Did I once believe
I could come to this?- reeling
In a fishing line
In exile, in a province,
And not one friend to be seen.

– Takamura no Ason

As night follows night,
I shift and turn my pillow,
My eyes open wide.
Long ago I dreamed of you.
How was I sleeping that night?

– Anonymous

Leave a Reply

