Musings

The Aesthetics of Gracious Plenty: Part Two


I recently blogged at Borderlands of Health and Wellness about the ethical limits of handling tips among co-workers. The context arose when a guest recently had more than one service with two different service providers, praised each as she left, didn’t complain during a voluntary survey BUT only left a gratuity FOR ONE of the service providers. 

It happens that I was the service provider who received “the” tip. The sealed envelope was addressed to me alone, contained a message that stated what she appreciated about the session and ended with “Thank You.” 

I blogged the details of this event on my professional massage blog. And now I find myself questioning repurposing THIS BLOG as a result.

Why? I may be able to explain why using a literary allusion borrowed from a regional idiom known nationally and thru a recent book by Sherri Reynolds by the same name, “A Gracious Plenty.” 

The term “A Gracious Plenty” is typically a compliment with a notable reservation: some form of excess is present. Commonly partaking of or in a gracious plenty is permissable in given contexts. Less often, the gracious response is to decline. The two divergent responses have aesthetic connotations. There’s a reflexive double take inherent in subjectvity that renders grace as a component of ethics & accounting. A nutshell Ice Age fans, known as axiology. 

The idea of repurposing THIS blog to something more “in harmony” with my professional blog, Borderlands of Health & Wellness, grew out of a random tweet I saw yesterday. It was a plug for an abandoned blog named The Poor Paralegal. Don’t laugh: I know I’ve not been caring for this blog and it’s occasional readers as I should for far longer than I’ve been working toward my paralegal. 

The title got me. I couldn’t sleep. By 4 a.m. finally feeling drowsy, I realized I WOULD NOT be joining my paralegal classmates at the Capitol Building in Nashville to watch the day’s proceedings. At 10:45 a.m. I awoke and within five minutes of my first and last sip of warmed over coffee I took to Twitter with a vengence, pausing only to return a Professors email whose word choice made it clear my distainful absence was being answered in kind. 

What a Gothic Title: The “Poor” Paralegal! Poor in what? Money? Opportunity? Romantic prospects? Spirit? I visited the site and realized it has been abandoned for several years. Clearly the authors and their readership had plenty of debt or were troubled by the implication in the legal industry. 

The idea embedded in the blog’s title implied a loss of Grace judging by the tenor of the last articles published. For a moment I relived a movie clip from Lord of the Rings.

 “They have taken the bridge and the second hall. We have barricaded the gates but cannot hold them for long. Cannot get out. Cannot get out. Drums….we hear drums in the deep. They are coming…..” 

The initial rumblings about an overabundance of Law School J.D.’s began in the early 2000’s. WSJ canarys began remarking that a problem MIGHT be brewing. Clinton had left the White House and the terrorist attack of September 11th 2001 quickly absorbed or threw a cloak over the initial signs of “Law School mismanagement.” For a few scant years, it seemed the claim of meritocratic American Law Schools were intact. Unharmed. 

And then the U.S. credit rating scandal made both observation and acknowledgement of the damage to the White City’s Ivory Towers unavoidable. 

Bork’s frank reference to not only postmodern literalism implied by primitivistic propaganda jumped off the screen as in the background Armin Shimmerman as Deep Space Nine’s golden bad boy Quark, argues in favor of the veracity and nobility of breaking all laws that minimize individual profit.

Manifest Destiny was revealed to be alive and well. 

And the trials and tribulations of idealism remain perennial; death unconquered. No requiem is sufficiently ENOUGH to quell the holographic implications of reality. 

Will I allow this blog to be informed by the law? Certainly. The battle for Aesthetics is never over until it’s over. 

Leave a Reply

