Wellness

Historiography and the limits of naturalism: Thoughts on privacy, propaganda and free speech


I do feel secure in presuming that I’m not the only American who didn’t vote in 2016. I also feel no guilt watching President Trump on TV, reading his Tweets, listening to his “alternative facts,” or learning more about how his decisions and actions ruffle and offend my fellow human beings at home and abroad. However, my hope President Trump’s banter or rather verbal jousting, would turn into instructive talking points is fading. 

CNN had a clip of John McCain righteously criticizing Trump over his pro reconciliation stance toward an ancient country by European  standards. The largest Eurasian country that ever existed, originally was called Russia. After the October Revolution, for sixty some odd years the country was known by more pseudonyms than any other country in Europe. McCain’s opinion of Trump’s stance was crystal clear. But his logic…. failed with me in a curious way. That’s right. Pardon me sir for saying as much.

John McCain begged the question folks. While it may be standard rhetorical practice and while the intent does retain integral power, I’m questioning its deployment. He used the word MORALITY and he used it AS AN ABSOLUTE VALUE and he didn’t blink or pause. 

Mr. McCain I know you of all people don’t need me to ask YOUR PARDON for pointing out that you know what begging the question is in visceral way. You don’t need the likes of me, who never served in the armed forces, who doesn’t and hasn’t attended church in quite sometime, to tell you or explain to anyone how and why that move to speak on your part, constitues one step forward and at least one step back. All global humanity still has time to make time. Time to think of Freud and Wittgenstein as some cross their fingers while others around us make a sign of the cross, that your word choice includes more THAN TWO STEPS in logic.  

Absolute value? After Bosnia? Absolute value after Benghazi? Absolute value. Is the Bowling Green massacre an example of an absolute value on the same scale? Why not? For whom? The Ivy League University that is developing the meme further or the pizza joint that a client told me yesterday coined the meme?

Donald Trump is what the private sector allowed him to become and until now, has permitted him to be. Mr. McCain, I’m not going to tell you or anyone anything about anything at all. I am going to mention what I didn’t hear you say. I didn’t even hear it implied in the CNN news clip of you addressing Congress. 

I did not hear you say: 

a.) The freedom of American citizens to travel abroad has been theoretically impinged by the ACA (affordable care act’s) reliance on interstate commerce. 

b.) The President’s comments are a bit too close to Free Speech – the bigger problem Trump’s comments are creating by example can be tied to ideology thru The First Amendment and from there, they could destabilize The Fourth Amendment’s role as a privacy shield. Doing so places an undue burden on the interpretation of the Fourteenth Amendment. Etc. 

c.) The President’s nominee to The Supreme Court, Gorsuch, is comming from Colorado that for the last few years has actively been testing a new policy toward a critical and crucial juncture in the legalization of Schedule I marijuana. 

Mr. McCain I didn’t hear you explaining to Congress WHAT THEY ALREADY KNOW. I didn’t hear the Fourth and Fifth Columns of American government telling me what to think or how to interpret your rebuke either. 

Senator McCain, I haven’t yet watched Dame Helen Mirren’s performance in the movie Winchester but I do plan to make time. Hopefully I’ll be able to view it before I complete my paralegal associates in lieu of Graduate School. I didn’t realize my choice to continue my professional growth and development was a cause of national concern. I appreciate being notified of my subversive transgressions against the 99% of American citizens that aren’t narcissists. That aren’t fascist or communist. Free Speech indeed, that my new android phone just permitted me to write the previous sentence and didn’t label it a fragment in need of revision. 

Artificial Intelligence. Oh really? With a gambler in the house?

Leave a comment